Winter is here. I’m usually in total denial to the start of another long stretch of frigid months but it’s pretty much smacking us in the face right now. Just 3 weeks ago it was 80*+ and we were sweating. Now the heat is on, winter gear is out, I made a big pot of potato soup – always a sure sign of winter – and the temps didn’t get above 35*. We had a winter weather warning a few days ago – it rained, and sleeted, and even a bit of snow fell. Crazy enough, the river is on the rise – minor flood stage actually – this does not make spring a lovely premonition.

I’m always cold, that’s no secret, but this time of year, I’m down right frigid [but warm at heart!]. I’m always bundled up, inside and out. I have the heat on in the house, in the car, and sometimes lean on a heating pad. Totally pathetic, I know, but I hate being cold. [I wear sweatshirts in the summer because the air conditioning is always too cold!] The kids all think I’m crazy. I think they are!

To kick off the start of Halloween weekend, the boys carved their pumpkins Thursday after school. This was a monumental pumpkin carving day for them – they were allowed to carve their own for the first time ever! I bought those cute little knives – still sharp and dangerous , holy cow! – and they went  to town! I carved out the top, they scooped all the guts and did their own designs. And they even cleaned up! I just had to do the seeds which is fine with me. Here’s some documentation.

 

Dillan wanted a 1 eyed, 1 toothed pumpkin this year.

 

He paused his carving to give a little wave.

 

And then he finished and did a great job!

 

Connor had some good detail and worked really hard - he loved doing it all himself!

 

I didn’t take any of the finished product but will once they’re all lit up on Halloween. I never put them out early for fear that they will become road decorations – I hate when people do that!

I can’t wait to have some potato soup to warm me up – and while I’m not a fan of Halloween, I’m ready to bring on the chocolate!

 

 

